Return to Headlines

Aubrey Football Holds Annual Team Banquet

The Aubrey football team celebrated its accomplishments at its annual banquet on Monday, Jan. 7. The Chaparrals advanced to the playoffs for the fourth consecutive year.

“A 3-8 record doesn’t sound exciting but you have to peel back the layers,” Aubrey football coach Keith Coach Ivy with Luke Sciba Ivy said. “We fought through adversity early on but continued to improve throughout the season. We found a way to win district games and get in the playoffs. In the 47-year history of Aubrey football, this is the first time that we have had four consecutive Aubrey teams make the playoffs.”

 Twenty Chaparrals were named all-district, including five first-team honorees. Austin McCallion was named defensive line MVP, while Jackson Jennings received defensive sophomore of the year honros.

“Having 14 academic all-district and eight academic all-state honorees as well as a Burlsworth National Sportsmanship and Character winner, proves that the success didn’t just happen on the field and during competition,” Ivy said.

Jacan Farmer was one of 107 football players in the state to be named to the THSCA Academic All-State Elite team. THSCA Academic All-State Teams recognize high school athletes who excel in the following categories: GPA, class rank and ACT/SAT score.

Luke Sciba received the Burlsworth National Sportsmanship and Character award. The Aubrey football team has had a player receive this honor each of the last four years.

Luke also received overall team MVP honors. More than a dozen Aubrey players received team honors at the banquet.

The Chaps finished the season with a record of 3-8. Aubrey advanced to the bi-district championship game for the fourth straight year.


 Aubrey Football Banquet AwardsCoach Spaulding with Landon Stewart

Top Offensive Lineman-Jacan Farmer

Top Back - Jaxon Holder

Top Wide Receiver - Grayson Larson

Top Defensive Lineman - Wilson Odimba

Top Linebacker - Jose Noyola

Top Defensive Back -Jackson Jennings

Offensive MVP -  Kye Ranton

Defensive MVP-  Austin McCallion

Special Teams MVP -  Landon Stewart

Fighting Heart Award- Angel Monreal, Trayce Hopkin, Jameison BuffordJose Noyola with Coach Bloedel

Overall MVP - Luke Sciba

Chaparral Award- Jacob Millican, Brenden Hough and Jason Freestone

Rhino Tough Award -Oliver Davis


Click this link to view photo album