Return to Headlines

Aubrey ISD Extends Closure Through May 3 to Support Governor’s “Stay at Home” Order, Reopen May 4

As directed by Texas Governor Greg Abbott and in support of the "Stay at Home" order, Aubrey ISD is extending its districtwide closure through Sunday, May 3.

Please see the following joint press release for more information.Aubrey Chaparral Logo

March 31, 2020 – In support of the “Stay at Home” Order issued by Texas Governor Greg Abbott, the following schools in Denton County announced they will extend districtwide closure through Sunday, May 3. Students, parents and staff are urged to remain vigilant in their efforts to stay healthy and stay at home.

Aubrey ISD

Argyle ISD
Denton ISD
Krum ISD
Lake Dallas ISD
Lewisville ISD
Little Elm ISD
Pilot Point ISD
Ponder ISD
Sanger ISD

Schools and offices in these districts are scheduled to reopen on Monday, May 4. Administrative teams in each district will continue to evaluate the recommendations of the Denton County Public Health (DCPH) department as well as the Center for Disease Control (CDC) to determine whether a longer closure beyond May 4 will be necessary.

"The efforts of Texans across the entire state have slowed the spread of the coronavirus, but we are not yet done with the response," Governor Abbott said. "We’ve come too far to falter now."

Education Commissioner Mike Morath said, "For the parents at home, we will work through this, we will get through this together. We have to remain apart for a little bit so we can be together again."

On Monday, March 30, DCPH has announced the county’s third death and 26 new laboratory-confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Denton County. This increases the countywide total to 191 confirmed COVID-19 cases.

“This situation (loss of life) underscores the need to follow the Stay at Home mandate,” said Denton County Judge Andy Eads. “We need everyone’s cooperation to help protect the health of all our residents, especially our most vulnerable.”

Because of the risk of the rapid spread of the virus and the need to protect the most vulnerable members of the community, Denton County residents are asked to stay at home, except for specific essential activities and work to provide essential business and government services or perform essential public infrastructure.