TELPAS Testing

Who takes the TELPAS test? 
Students in grades K-12 that have been identified as an Emergent Bilingual (EB) students are required to take TELPAS.  This includes students whose parents have declined program services.

What does the TELPAS test look like? 
In grades K-1, a student's teacher bases his/her score on classroom observations and student interactions.  In grades 2-12, TELPAS is comprised of two online tests: one covers listening and speaking skills in English, and the second covers reading and writing skills in English.

When will my child no longer take the TELPAS test? 
Students stop participating in TELPAS once they are proficient in English and have exited the ESL program.

TELPAS Testing Logo